plants.

“May I a small house and large garden have;
And a few friends,
And many books, both true.”
Abraham Cowley

You may have been able to guess from my background and title and whatnot that I love plants. But if you didn’t get that yet…I LOVE PLANTS. There’s something about growing things and the smell of dirt that makes me feel so alive! And my sister, being her incredible inspired and super-understanding self, somehow knows this about me even though I don’t think I have ever specifically explained to her the feeling I have around plants. So for my birthday this month, she got me an adorable box filled with twelve baby succulents! She told me, “You need to grow things”.

Succulents 153

It took me a few days but I finally got around to replanting them yesterday night. I was super tempted to buy a gorgeous white enamel window box from Home Depot (I had to go in to get soil)…but used every ounce of willpower I posses and decided to look elsewhere instead. Good thing I did, because then I popped into the Goodwill down the road and got several quirky containers at over half the price of the one windowbox!

Planting ensued. Mind you, it was -6 degrees last night. So I spread out my newspaper on the kitchen table, grabbed a glass of wine and dug in. Little slices of heaven, these moments. Here are the results, photographed in terrible lighting in my bedroom, but hey!

Succulents 164

“It was such a pleasure to sink one’s hands into the warm earth, to feel at one’s fingertips the possibilities of the new season.” ― Kate Morton, The Forgotten Garden

Succulents 165

“But always, to her, red and green cabbages were to be jade and burgundy, chrysoprase and prophyry. Life has no weapons against a woman like that.” ― Edna Ferber

It’s evident I have the best little sister in the whole world. A little bit of happiness to brighten my room as I sit and watch big snowflakes fall outside my window.

I also got these tulips, just because FLOWERS.

Tulips

Flowers always make people better, happier, and more helpful; they are sunshine, food and medicine for the soul.     –  Luther Burbank

Have a lovely Friday!

Leave a Reply

